Suffering Grace

It was at the cross that Jesus dealt with all our sins, griefs, and sorrows. He calls us to give up all rights to ourselves, take up our cross, and follow. This hard place in which you perhaps find yourself, so painful is the very place in which God is giving you the opportunity to look only to Him, to travail in prayer, and to learn long suffering, gentleness, meekness, to learn the depths of love Christ himself has poured out on all of us….this form of suffering is your opportunity to learn to leave with God what only God can do.

Oswald Chambers, in My Upmost for His Highest, says that ” No normal, healthy saints ever chooses suffering; he simply chooses God’s will, just as Jesus did, whether it means suffering or not.”

When you and I pray that God’s will be done in our lives, we must mean it, no matter what it costs us–for truly He will take us at our word.

2 Cor. 1:3-5 says Paise be to God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.

This passage let us know there is purpose in our sufferings because we learn to depend on Christ and then others can depend on us. There is no value in suffering when we look from the perspective it hurts so badly but there is great value in how we respond to it in light of the scripture.

Suffering can produce great depths of character, mature understanding, warm compassions, and rich spirituality…it makes us more like Jesus.

When I was learning my grace lessons on suffering I had to allow the process of suffering to transform me into the image of Christ then only when I was willing to let go of who I thought I ought to be and the. I became who God wanted me to be.

Don’t wait until lessons are fully learned, seek to know Him and serve Him in the middle of the pain. God definitely uses our sufferings to conform us in His likeness.

I Peter 5:10!says it best And the God of all grace who called you to his eternal glory in Christ after you have suffered a while will himself restore you and make you strong, firm, and steadfast…

I am truly amazed by Grace!!

Be Blessed,

Pastor Jackie

Leave a comment